DIY Taco Seasoning

In my efforts to reduce my family’s waste I have taken to making a lot of things “from scratch” just like Grandma in the olden days would have done. We have made slider rolls, naan bread, tortillas, flat breads, seed loaves etc etc etc and because we LOVE Mexican food too I make my own Taco seasoning in BULK.

Seeing the beef mince fly off the shelves in our local supermarkets due to the impending lockdown due to Covid-19, I can only figure that there are a lot of Mexican meals being made this weekend around our area! So much so that the tiny packets of Taco and Chilli seasoning have also disappeared, but that is where I come in friends….

Its soooo simple and you probably have the ingredients already in the deep dark recesses of your spice rack/cupboard. Although on that note, if the spices are too old best you get some new ones. I nearly burned my families tongues off when my old chilli powder ran out and I replaced it with a new lot. My son said he could taste the burn in his eyeballs! LOL! So get some fresh stuff at the bulk food store and let me tell you how to make it.

The cool thing about making this spice mix is that you can gauge how much chilli powder to put in based on the ability of your family to cope with the heat. And you can be certain you will not get any filler ingredients, nasty flavour enhancers and excess salt when you make it yourself. So way more healthy for your family right!

The ingredients are as follows:

2 tablespoons chilli powder

1 teaspoon cumin

1 teaspoon coriander

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon oregano

Cayenne pepper to taste (start with a quarter teaspoon)

I make up a bulk lot about three times this amount and put it in a clean jar in my spice cupboard, that way I always have it on hand.

For one kilo of minced beef I use two heaped tablespoons of spice mix, but really its all personal preference so just taste test until you get it right.

Give it a go and let me know what you think.

#lighterfootprints

Love

Julia x


Leave a comment